Roll Your Eyes and Deal With It

Leave a comment

So last nights date night began with us was driving around trying to think of new restaurants that lovely Brownsville, TX had to offer.  Nothing.  Nada. Zilch.  ZERO.  Maybe that’s a bit harsh.  I’m sure there are some new restaurants cuz new restaurants pop up everywhere (we got our first Shipley’s yesterday complete with a 20 minute wait on their opening day!!) but we didn’t feel like having Tex-Mex (again) and I know the husband and I are always looking for a restaurant with a cool and hip vibe.  That said.  Nothing.  Nada. Zilch.  ZERO.  Oh well.  We settled for our local Texas Roadhouse and oh dear Lord, that place was packed!!  On to the next! The lovely Cheddars.  Just as packed.  Geez.  And so we ended up at our local Chili’s.  Only a 20 minute wait.  Not bad.  And so we waited and when we finally sat down husband did something new when he ordered our typical bottomless chips and salsa.  He ordered DOUBLE salsa! Double Salsa Wha?????  Wow.  After being married for seven years the man knows me well.  This lady can drink salsa if given the opportunity (I actually asked for a straw for my own little bowl and the waiter threatened to kick me out so I settled on using my chips again).  And then we ordered our typical Micheladas with Dos Equis and Tecate.  Sadly the Micheladas sucked and I’ll have to post husband’s recipe another day so y’all can see what I’m talking about if you don’t.

Anyway – the Micheladas were flowin’ and the salsa was devoured (by yours truly) when husband made a face and rolled his eyes.  Shoot.  Had I finished his bowl of salsa too??  Nope (Yay – for me, but I was tempted, trust me).  It turns out husband was having one of his “I miss Austin” moments.  Again.  I swear it happens every six weeks.  Had the lack of cool, hip, restaurants brought this on?  Yeah, probably a bit, but he said that Brownsville just has a vibe that rubs him the wrong way.  Now, I am not trying to throw husband under the bus (not today at least) but I’m here to be honest.

Husband was literally dragged down here by your truly (I’ll tell you that lovely story in another post) and although he is Hispanic he does not know Spanish and oh boy, did he struggle in the beginning (for more info on struggling to teach younger generations Spanish check out the article at the bottom of this post)  .  I mean there were times when he looked so depressed about being here I thought he was going to leave us for Austin.  The thing with Brownsville (or the Rio Grande Valley) is you either you like it or you don’t.  I’m not too sure if there’s an in between.  Husband says he can’t stand that Spanish is spoken so much here (hello??  we’re a border town!  Yes, yes, I  tell him this often) and you know?  I have to agree.  It is a pet peeve of mine when I walk in to a store at the mall and I’m asked if I need assistance in Spanish.  My Spanish is ok and I could just actually answer them and succumb to them but I refuse to.  Instead I play dumb and I make them work for it.  Why?  Because we are in the United States and while I welcome the idea of people moving over here for better opportunities I still think that you should be grateful and at least learn the language.  My dad came to the U.S. probably in his early 20s and the man taught himself English.  I know he prefers Spanish but he made (and still does, when needed) makes the effort.  And I think everybody needs to.  But I digress.  Anyway…

There is so much that husband cannot stand about being down here but he has slowly (at a snail’s pace y’all) come around to the idea that God puts you where you’re needed.  And when he finishes school and starts applying for work he’s decided to apply for teaching positions down here as well. Does that mean that I have to live with his eye rolling every six weeks for the rest of our life.  Probably.  But even though I am not the biggest Brownsville fan I do believe in thriving where you’re planted.  It’s a hard concept to wrap your head around that idea but you have to look at the good and the bad of every situation (for instance, Austin is hip and cool but the traffic bites and houses in the cooler parts of Austin are way too high for a teacher).  So I’ve asked husband what he DOES like about Brownsville.  He loves that homes prices are so low around here and that he’s so close to the coast.  And…he loves the school district that the boys are zoned too.

So you see?  Yes, he may miss the Longhorn tailgating and the cool culture that the ATX has to offer but he’s a family man first and foremost and you do what’s best for the family.  And for the moment, that’s what we’ll do,  So, please excuse me if I clearly look like I should be speaking Spanish.  But when I don’t, I ask that you remember that you and I are both where we need to be at the time.  Just roll your eyes and deal with it like we do (but can you turn away from me before you do it?  Thanks!).

Are you in a place where you’re not 100% happy but are trying your hardest to make the best of it?  Share your comments and tell me how you deal with it.

Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog by submitting your e-mail!!

 

Leave a Reply

